Blog

Is hitting around the net posts legal in tennis?

Is hitting around the net posts legal in tennis?

(5) A player can hit the ball around the net, but not through it. Of course a player can hit the ball over the net, but he/she can also hit the ball around the net, as long as it lands in the opponent’s court. For example, it is legal to go wide and hit the ball around and below the level of the net.

What happens if you hit the net post in tennis?

During a rally, if a ball bounces off the net post and goes in then the rally continues. (Other permanent fixtures would be a ball hitting the fence or an Umpire’s chair). Touching the net. This one is simple – if you touch the net when the point is live then you lose the point.

READ ALSO:   What is Phillips curve explain with diagram?

Why do they say let when the ball hits the net in tennis?

This tennis word is used to tell somebody to replay a point because something or someone has temporarily stopped play. Its origins stem from the Old Saxon word lettian which meant to hinder or prevent something from happening.

Can you hit the net in US Open?

When in play, the player cannot touch the net or net post, or cross over onto the opponent’s side of the court. If they do, this player will lose the point. A player can only hit the ball once before returning it to the other side of the net.

Are around the net shots Legal?

In tennis, hitting around the net post is completely legal because the rulebook has no restrictions on the height of the ball, meaning that the ball does not have to travel above the height of the net in order to be considered a legal shot.

READ ALSO:   Is Jason Roy a good player?

Is the net post a permanent fixture?

Rule 2 goes on to make clear that in doubles, the net posts are part of the net and are not permanent fixtures. In singles played with singles sticks, anything outside the singles sticks, including the net posts, is a permanent fixture. If there are no singles sticks, then the net posts are not permanent fixtures.